Insurance Continuing Education: Hawaii
September 8, 2021
The islands of Hawaii have a relaxed reputation, as a vacation destination for many more land-bound U.S. residents, as the location where surfing was invented, and as a place with generally amazing weather year-round. Despite the warm chill, there are a few issues that the state is a stickler about, and right up there with pet quarantines and gambling prohibitions (thank you to Candy Aluli for these fun facts) are Hawaii’s producer insurance continuing education requirements.
Following are the basic outlines of Hawaii’s CE regulations as we understand them, but be sure if you’re under the jurisdiction of “The Aloha State” to not just take our word for it! Do your own research and comply with their standards.
What is the due date for Hawaii Insurance CE Credits?
Hawaii’s CE due date is a little outside the norm. CE has to be completed by 15 days before the license renewal date, which is the 16th of your birth month. If you were born in an even-numbered month, you will renew in even-numbered years. If you were born in an odd-numbered month, you will renew in odd-numbered years.
Confused? Don’t worry, the state will send you a reminder 60 days before your license expiration date.
Who’s exempt from Hawaii Insurance CE?
If you reside in another state and are in good standing with your resident state’s CE requirements, read no further and don’t trouble yourself – Hawaii considers you good in their state. If, however, you’re a resident of Hawaii, read on.
If you’ve been licensed for less than two years when your first renewal period comes up on the calendar, Hawaii considers you exempt from the CE requirements (although you will have to renew your license). Once your first renewal is passed, however, consider yourself on notice for keeping up with CE. And, if you add a new line of authority, you’ll need to complete the associated required CE by the end of your license renewal period, as well.
The Hawaii insurance department reserves the right to grant waivers, deadline extensions, and exemptions for those who apply, so if you need an exemption, you can always ask. Reasons they often grant waivers include active military duty and illness.
How many hours of CE are required for Hawaii insurance producers?
If you’re a resident insurance producer in Hawaii, you need to take 24 hours of CE every two years. Three of those hours have to be in ethics or Hawaiian insurance laws and regulations, and the other 21 CE credit requirements vary based on your line of authority:
- If you’re licensed solely in life, accident, and health (LAH), you must meet the three hours of ethics and 21 hours must be specific to LAH insurance education.
- If you’re licensed solely in property and casualty (P&C) or personal lines, you must meet the three hours of ethics and 21 hours must be specific to P&C insurance education.
- If you are licensed for LAH and P&C/ personal lines, you must meet the three hours of ethics, 10 credit hours of life, accident, and health insurance education, and 11 credit hours of property and casualty insurance education.
You can take classes in a few ways in Hawaii, including online, over correspondence courses, in the classroom, or as part of a company seminar. You can double-dip for dual credit if you’re taking courses to earn a designation like a Certified Financial Planner, but you can’t repeat a course within a two-year period, and you can’t roll over credits from one renewal period to the next. Hawaii is a member of NAIC Continuing Education Reciprocity agreement, so producers can access lots of courses from national catalogs.
Like other states, to sell flood insurance, Hawaii requires you to take three hours of training each renewal period in accordance with the standards set by the National Flood Insurance Program.
Also, if you’re looking to sell annuities, you have to start by taking a one-time, four-hour annuity training course.
For more information about state-specific licensing requirements, or to find out how AgentSync can make it easier to operate across multiple states, check out our state page for Hawaii Insurance Licensing & Compliance.
Hawaii Insurance CE FAQs
If you’re within 30 days of your Hawaiian resident insurance license, you can renew your license online if you have gotten up to date on your CE. After 30 days but within a year, you can renew subject to a reactivation fee. After a year and a day, however, you will need to reapply as a new licensee, complete with a new insurance exam and everything.
CE course providers are required to electronically submit certificates of completion to the state within 15 days of course completion. Insurance producers must have completed their CE courses more than 15 days from the date of renewal to be in good standing.