Prevention is the new solution

One of the biggest obstacles for producers to stay in compliance is the staggering range of processes carriers must use to appoint agents. Each state has its own standard – with some directly contradictory – so understanding state deadlines and expectations can be an especially difficult challenge, as the information can be quite obscure. 

The simplest solution to ensure that you’re following your state’s regulations is to use a Compliance as a Service platform. If you don’t have this powerful new tool, you need to drill deep into your states’ laws to avoid hefty fines. To take some of the sting out of this painful and laborious process, we’ve rounded up some of the basic FAQs of state appointments for carriers and MGAs/MGUs. 

From Just-In-Time appointments, basic fee expectations,* and renewal procedures, check out your relevant states to understand some of the frequently asked questions of the appointment processes. We’ve included Washington, DC (the District of Columbia) and Puerto Rico, as well, to create a comprehensive, easy-to-understand FAQ.

* We try to keep our fee expectations in these FAQs up to date, but fees may change faster than we can type, and many states have retaliatory structures that may not be noted here. While you’re always responsible for doing your own due diligence and staying in compliance with the relevant regulatory bodies, this is particularly true of our appointment fee information.

Appointing in Alabama

Does Alabama require producer appointments? 

Yes. Alabama requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Alabama permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Alabama permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What is Alabama’s deadline for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in Alabama must be submitted by the earlier of:

  1. Within 15 days from when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Alabama appoint agencies? 

Yes. Alabama appoints agencies. 

Does the agency appointment include producers in Alabama? 

No. Agency appointments in Alabama don’t include producers. 

Does Alabama allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Alabama doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Alabama require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Alabama doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date? 

No. In Alabama, the effective date is the date the appointment is processed through the NIPR Gateway. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Alabama? 

Carriers in Alabama can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Alabama? 

Yes. In Alabama, a termination effective date is required, it must not be more than 90 days in the future, and it must be 30 days old or less. 

Is the appointment terminated if their license expires in Alabama? 

There is a 30-day grace period following expiration, during which time the producer can renew with a $50 late fee plus the renewal fee. If the license is not renewed at this time, the license expires, and all company appointments are canceled. Per the Alabama Department of Insurance (482-1-147 (b)), when a producer license expires, all lines of authority between the company and the individual must be terminated

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Alabama? 

Alabama charges $40 to appoint a resident agency or individual.

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Alabama? 

Alabama charges $40 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Map of Alaska

Appointing in Alaska 

Are appointments required for Alaska? 

Alaska doesn’t require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. 

Appointing in Arizona

Are appointments required for Arizona? 

Arizona doesn’t require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. 

Arkansas State Map

Appointing in Arkansas

Does Arkansas require producer appointments? 

Yes. Arkansas requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Arkansas permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Arkansas allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

What are the deadlines for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in Arkansas must be submitted either: 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Arkansas appoint agencies? 

Yes. Arkansas appoints agencies. 

Does the agency appointment include producers? 

No. Agency appointments in Arkansas don’t include producers.  

Does Arkansas allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Arkansas doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR.  

Does Arkansas require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Arkansas doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Arkansas? 

The effective date is required in Arkansas and cannot be backdated by more than 15 days. The effective date may not be in the future and must not precede the effective date of the appointee’s license. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Arkansas? 

Carriers in Arkansas can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Arkansas? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Arkansas. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Is the appointment terminated if their license expires in Arkansas? 

Yes. Arkansas will terminate a producer’s appointment if their license expires. 

Does an Arkansas insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Arkansas doesn’t require appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to be in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Arkansas? 

Arkansas charges $20 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Arkansas? 

Arkansas charges $60 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual.

Appointing in California 

Does California require producer appointments? 

Yes. California requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state.  

Does California allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR?

Yes. California allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does California permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

It depends. California allows Just-In-Time appointments for producers writing under the life, health, and annuity lines of authority. However, they are not permitted for producers in the property and casualty lines of authority. 

What is California’s deadline for JIT appointments?  

California carriers must submit JIT appointments for producers writing life, health, and annuity business within 14 days of the date that the producer’s first piece of business is submitted to the carrier. 

Does California appoint agencies? 

Yes. California appoints agencies.  

Does the agency appointment include producers in California? 

No. Agency appointments in California don’t include producers. 

Does California allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. California doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does California require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. California doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in California? 

The appointment-effective date is required and must not be in the future. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in California? 

Carrier appointments in California are renewed if the license is renewed. If a license has lapsed, the carrier can apply for a new appointment via Sircon. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in California? 

The termination-effective date is required and must not be in the future. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Is the appointment terminated if their license expires in California? 

Yes. California will terminate a producer’s appointment if their license expires. 

Does a California insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. California doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in California? 

California charges $58 to appoint a resident agency or individual.

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in California? 

California charges $58 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Colorado

Does Colorado require producer appointments? 

Not typically. Colorado carriers planning to issue bail bond coverage must appoint producers operating under an LOA-11 casualty license who write bail bond business. For all other lines of authority, appointments are not required, but the carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. 

Does Colorado allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

No Colorado doesn’t allow appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Colorado permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

No, Colorado doesn’t permit Just-In-Time appointments. 

Does Colorado appoint agencies? 

No. Colorado doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Colorado allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Colorado doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Colorado require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Colorado doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number for an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Colorado? 

The appointment-effective date is required in Colorado and must not be in the future. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Colorado appointments? 

Carrier appointments in Colorado are renewed if the license is renewed. If a license has lapsed, the carrier can apply for a new appointment via NIPR. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Colorado? 

The termination-effective date is required in Colorado and must not be in the future. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Colorado insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Colorado doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Colorado? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in Colorado. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Colorado? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in Colorado.

Appointing in Connecticut

Does Connecticut require producer appointments? 

Yes. Connecticut requires producer appointments.  

Does Connecticut allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Connecticut allows producer appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Connecticut permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Connecticut permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What is Connecticut’s deadline for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in Connecticut must be submitted either: 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Connecticut appoint agencies? 

Yes. Connecticut appoints agencies. 

Does Connecticut allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Connecticut doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Connecticut require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Connecticut doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Connecticut? 

In Connecticut, the appointment-effective date is required and must be no later than 15 days after the date the agency contract is executed, or the first insurance application is submitted (in accordance with section 38a-702m of the Connecticut General Statutes). The date an appointment is effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Connecticut? 

Carriers in Connecticut can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Connecticut? 

In Connecticut, the termination-effective date is required and must be no later than 15 days after the date the agency contract is executed, or the first insurance application is submitted (in accordance with section 38a-702m of the Connecticut General Statutes). The date a termination is effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Connecticut insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Connecticut doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Connecticut? 

Connecticut charges $20 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Connecticut? 

Connecticut charges $20 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in the District of Columbia

Does the District of Columbia require producer appointments? 

Yes. The District of Columbia requires producer appointments. 

Does the District of Columbia allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. The District of Columbia allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does the District of Columbia permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. The District of Columbia permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What is the District of Columbia’s deadline for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in the District of Columbia must be submitted either:

  1. Within 30 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 30 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does the District of Columbia appoint agencies? 

Yes. The District of Columbia appoints agencies. 

Does the District of Columbia allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. The District of Columbia doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR.  

Does the District of Columbia require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. The District of Columbia doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in the District of Columbia? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in the District of Columbia. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in the District of Columbia? 

Carriers in the District of Columbia can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in the District of Columbia? 

The effective date in the District of Columbia will be ignored (not required). The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a District of Columbia insurance license require appointment or affiliation?

No. The District of Columbia doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in the District of Columbia? 

The District of Columbia charges $25 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in the District of Columbia? 

The District of Columbia charges $25 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Delaware 

Does Delaware require producer appointments? 

Yes. Delaware requires producer appointments. 

Does Delaware allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Delaware allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Delaware permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Delaware permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Delaware’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Delaware must be submitted either: 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Delaware appoint agencies? 

No. Delaware doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Delaware allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Delaware doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Delaware require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Yes. Delaware requires the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application.

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Delaware? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Delaware. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Delaware? 

Delaware doesn’t require renewals for appointments if the license is active. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Delaware? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Delaware. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a Delaware insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Delaware doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Delaware? 

Delaware charges $45 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual? 

Delaware charges $45 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual.

Appointing in Florida 

Does Florida require producer appointments? 

Yes. Florida requires producer appointments. 

Does Florida allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Florida allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Florida permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Florida permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Florida’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

A carrier must submit appointments in Florida to the state within 45 days of the appointment effective date (which is also determined by the carrier and listed on the appointment form). 

Does Florida appoint agencies? 

No. Florida does not appoint agencies. 

Does Florida allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Florida doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Florida require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Florida doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Florida? 

The effective date is required in Florida, is supplied on the transaction by the carrier, and must be 45 days old or less. The date the appointment is effective can’t precede the effective date of the appointee’s license or the appointer’s license and must not be in the future. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Florida? 

Carriers in Florida can renew their appointments at The Florida Portal.  

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Florida? 

The termination-effective date is required in Florida, is supplied on the transaction by the carrier, and must be 45 days old or less. The date the termination is effective can’t precede the effective date of the appointee’s license or the appointer’s license and must not be in the future. 

Does a Florida insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

Yes. Florida requires an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Florida? 

Florida charges $60 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Florida? 

Florida charges $60+$6 per county to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Georgia 

Does Georgia require producer appointments? 

Yes. Georgia requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Georgia allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Georgia allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Georgia permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Georgia permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Georgia’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Georgia must be submitted either: 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Georgia appoint agencies? 

No. Georgia doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Georgia allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Georgia doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Georgia require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Georgia doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Georgia? 

A carrier-specified appointment-effective date will be ignored in Georgia and is not required. The appointment-effective date is the date the state processes the appointment transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Georgia? 

Georgia renewals are processed through their Sircon portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Georgia? 

A carrier-specified producer appointment termination date is required in Georgia. The date it becomes effective is the date that the carrier supplies on the transaction. 

Does a Georgia insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Georgia doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Georgia? 

Georgia charges $10 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Georgia? 

Georgia charges $10 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Hawaii 

Does Hawaii require producer appointments? 

Yes. Hawaii requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Hawaii allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Hawaii allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Hawaii permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Hawaii permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Hawaii’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Hawaii must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Hawaii appoint agencies? 

Yes. Hawaii appoints agencies. 

Does the agency appointment include producers in Hawaii? 

No. Agency appointments in Hawaii don’t include producers. 

Does Hawaii allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Hawaii doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Hawaii require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Yes. Hawaii requires the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application.  

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Hawaii? 

A carrier-specified appointment-effective date in Hawaii can be no more than 15 days old from the current date (the date of the appointment transaction). 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Hawaii? 

Hawaii doesn’t renew appointments and holds appointments as perpetual unless the carrier submits a termination. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Hawaii? 

A carrier-specified termination-effective date in Hawaii can be no more than 15 days old from the current date (the date of the termination transaction). 

Is the appointment terminated if the license expires in Hawaii? 

Yes. Terminating even a single line of authority for an appointment terminates all an agent’s appointments – across all LOAs – with that carrier if the license expires in Hawaii. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Hawaii? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in Hawaii. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Hawaii? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in Hawaii. 

Appointing in Iowa 

Does Iowa require producer appointments? 

Yes. Iowa requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Iowa allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Iowa allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Iowa permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Iowa permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Iowa’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Iowa must be submitted either 

  1. Within 30 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 30 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Iowa appoint agencies? 

No. Iowa doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Iowa allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Iowa doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Iowa require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Iowa doesn’t require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Iowa? 

The carrier in Iowa isn’t required to specify an appointment date. If a carrier doesn’t specify the appointment-effective date, then the date effective is the date the state processes the appointment transaction. If the carrier specifies an appointment date, it must be 30 days old or less. 

Where do carriers renew their appointments in Iowa? 

Carriers in Iowa can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Iowa? 

The carrier isn’t required to specify a termination date. If an Iowa carrier doesn’t specify the appointment-termination date, then it’s the date the state processes the termination transaction. If the carrier specifies a date, it must be 30 days old or less. 

Does an Iowa insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Iowa doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Iowa? 

Iowa charges a retaliatory fee based on the appointing entity’s state of domicile, from $0 to $75 depending on the state.

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Iowa? 

Iowa charges a retaliatory fee based on the appointing entity’s state of domicile, from $0 to $75 depending on the state.

Appointing in Idaho 

Does Idaho require producer appointments? 

Yes. Idaho requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Idaho allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Idaho allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Idaho permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Idaho permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Idaho’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Idaho must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Idaho appoint agencies? 

Yes. Idaho appoints agencies. 

Does the agency appointment include producers in Idaho? 

A person with an affiliation to an Idaho agency can use the agency appointment and isn’t required to have a direct carrier appointment. 

Does Idaho allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Idaho doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR.  

Does Idaho require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Idaho doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Idaho? 

In Idaho, the effective date is required on the appointment transaction. It must be less than 15 days old, can’t be in the future, and must not precede the date of licensure for either the appointee or the appointer. 

Where do carriers renew their Idaho appointments? 

Carrier appointments are submitted through an Idaho Sircon portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Idaho? 

In Idaho, the effective date is required on the termination transaction. It must be less than 15 days old, must not be in the future, and can’t precede the date of licensure for either the appointee or the appointer. 

Does an Idaho insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Idaho doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Idaho? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in Idaho. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Idaho? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in Idaho. 

Appointing in Illinois 

Does Illinois require producer appointments? 

Illinois doesn’t require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. 

Appointing in Indiana 

Are appointments required for Indiana? 

Indiana doesn’t require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. 

Appointing in Kansas 

Does Kansas require producer appointments? 

Yes. Kansas requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Kansas allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Kansas allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Kansas permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Kansas permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Kansas’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

The carrier in Kansas must submit appointments within 30 days of the appointment effective date, which is determined by the carrier and listed on the appointment form. 

Does Kansas appoint agencies? 

Kansas doesn’t appoint agencies for major lines, but appoints agencies for car rental, credit, portable electronics, self-storage, and title insurances.

Does Kansas allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Kansas doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Kansas require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Kansas doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Kansas? 

In Kansas, the effective date is required on the appointment transaction, can’t be in the future, and must be less than 30 days old. The date the appointment is effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Kansas appointments? 

Kansas automatically bills renewed appointments annually via NIPR

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Kansas? 

The effective date is required on the termination transaction in Kansas and can’t be in the future. The date the termination is effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Kansas insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

Yes, a Kansas insurance license is “inactive” if the agent is not appointed by a carrier, although, if the license hasn’t expired, it will automatically be reactivated once an appointment is made. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Kansas? 

Kansas charges $5 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Kansas? 

Kansas charges $5 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Kentucky 

Does Kentucky require producer appointments? 

Yes. Kentucky requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state.   

Does Kentucky allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Kentucky allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Kentucky permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Kentucky permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are the deadlines for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in Kentucky must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Kentucky appoint agencies? 

Yes. Kentucky appoints agencies. 

Does Kentucky allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Kentucky doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Kentucky require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Yes. Kentucky requires a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Kentucky? 

The effective date is required in Kentucky and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date the carrier supplies on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Kentucky appointments? 

Kentucky carriers can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Kentucky? 

In Kentucky, the effective date is required and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date the carrier supplies on the transaction. 

Does a Kentucky insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Kentucky doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Kentucky? 

Kentucky charges resident individuals $40 and resident agencies $100.  

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Kentucky? 

Kentucky charges nonresident individuals $50 and nonresident agencies $120. 

Appointing in Louisiana 

Does Louisiana require producer appointments? 

Yes. Louisiana requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Louisiana allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Louisiana allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Louisiana permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Louisiana permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Louisiana’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Louisiana must be submitted within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed. 

Does Louisiana appoint agencies? 

Yes. Louisiana appoints agencies. 

Does Louisiana allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Louisiana doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Louisiana require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Beginning March 11, 2022, Louisiana will no longer require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Louisiana? 

The effective date in Louisiana will be the date the appointment transaction is processed. 

Where do carriers renew their Louisiana appointments? 

Carriers in Louisiana can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Louisiana? 

In Louisiana, the requested termination-effective date may not be backdated from the date the transaction is processed. 

Does a Louisiana insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Louisiana doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Louisiana? 

Louisiana charges $20 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Louisiana? 

Louisiana charges $20 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Massachusetts 

Does Massachusetts require producer appointments? 

Yes. Massachusetts requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Massachusetts allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

New in 2022, Massachusetts producer appointments can be processed via NIPR

Does Massachusetts permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Massachusetts permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Massachusetts’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Massachusetts must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Massachusetts appoint agencies? 

Yes. Massachusetts appoints agencies. 

Where do carriers renew their Massachusetts appointments? 

The State of Massachusetts emails renewals to appointment holders. 

Does a Massachusetts insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. A Massachusetts insurance license doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation to remain in force.

Appointing in Maryland 

Does Maryland require producer appointments? 

Most appointments in Maryland aren’t required to be reported to the state, except for producers writing under the LC-322 motor club class of license. All other license classes and lines of authority must be maintained by the carriers and submitted to the state only on request.

The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. Property/casualty authorizations must be added to the list within 30 days of the effective date and before the producer begins selling. Life/health authorizations must be added to the list within 30 days of the date the first piece of business is accepted by the carrier. 

Can appointments be processed via NIPR? 

No. Maryland doesn’t allow appointments to be processed via NIPR

Does Maryland appoint agencies? 

No. Maryland doesn’t appoint agencies.  

Does Maryland require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Yes. Producers who write under the LC-322 motor club class of license are required to submit their Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Maryland? 

The appointment-effective date is required in Maryland and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Maryland appointments? 

Carriers in Maryland can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination in Maryland? 

The termination-effective date is required in Maryland and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Maryland? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in Maryland. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Maryland? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in Maryland. 

Appointing in Maine 

Does Maine require producer appointments? 

Yes. Maine requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Maine allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Maine allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Maine permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Maine permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are the deadlines for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in Maine must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Maine appoint agencies? 

Yes. Maine appoints agencies. 

Does Maine allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Maine doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Maine require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Maine doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Maine? 

The effective date is required in Maine and must be less than 20 days old, but it must not be in the future or precede the effective date of the appointee’s or appointer’s license. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Maine appointments? 

Appointment renewals in Maine are handled through an invoice that is sent to the producer licensing/appointment contact on file. The renewal payment must be received within 30 days of the invoice

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination in Maine? 

The effective date is required in Maine and must be less than 20 days old, but it must not be in the future or precede the effective date of the appointee’s or appointer’s license. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Maine insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Maine doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Maine? 

Maine charges $30 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Maine? 

Maine charges $45 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Michigan 

Does Michigan require producer appointments? 

Yes. Michigan requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Michigan allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Michigan allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Michigan permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

No. Michigan doesn’t permit Just-In-Time appointments.  

Does Michigan appoint agencies? 

Yes. Michigan appoints agencies. 

Does Michigan allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Michigan doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Michigan require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Michigan doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Michigan? 

The effective date is required in Michigan. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Michigan appointments? 

The Michigan DOI sends the company a list of carrier appointments and an invoice every January. Bills are paid through the DIFS epayment login (online services). To pay, the company must create an account using the code that was sent in the email. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Michigan? 

The effective date is required in Michigan. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Michigan insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Michigan doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Michigan? 

Michigan charges $5 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Michigan? 

Michigan charges $5 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual.

Appointing in Minnesota 

Does Minnesota require producer appointments? 

Yes. Minnesota requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Minnesota allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Minnesota allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Minnesota permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Minnesota permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Minnesota’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Minnesota must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Minnesota appoint agencies? 

No. Minnesota doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Minnesota allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Minnesota doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Minnesota require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Minnesota doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Minnesota? 

The effective date is required in Minnesota. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Minnesota appointments? 

Carrier appointment renewals are processed in the Minnesota Sircon portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Minnesota? 

The effective date is required in Minnesota. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Minnesota insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Minnesota insurance licenses don’t require an appointment or affiliation to remain in force.

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Minnesota? 

Minnesota charges $30 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Minnesota? 

Minnesota charges $30 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Mississippi 

Does Mississippi require producer appointments? 

Yes. Mississippi requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Mississippi allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Mississippi allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Mississippi permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Mississippi permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are the deadlines for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in Mississippi must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Mississippi appoint agencies? 

No. Mississippi doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Mississippi allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Mississippi doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Mississippi require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Yes. Mississippi requires a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application.

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Mississippi? 

In Mississippi, the effective date will be ignored (not required). The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their Mississippi appointments? 

Carrier appointment renewals are handled via the Mississippi Sircon portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Mississippi? 

The effective date for terminations is required in Mississippi. It must not be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Mississippi insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Mississippi doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Mississippi? 

Mississippi charges $25 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Mississippi? 

Mississippi charges $25 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Missouri 

Does Missouri require producer appointments? 

Missouri doesn’t require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request. 

Appointing in Montana 

Does Montana require producer appointments? 

Yes. Montana requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Montana allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Montana allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Montana permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Montana permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Montana’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Montana must be submitted within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed. 

Does Montana appoint agencies? 

Yes. Montana appoints agencies. 

Does Montana allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Montana doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Montana require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Montana doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Montana? 

The effective date for terminations is required in Montana. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Montana appointments? 

Montana doesn’t require renewals for appointments. 

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination? 

The effective date for terminations is required. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Montana insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Montana doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Montana? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in Montana. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Montana? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in Montana. 

Appointing in North Carolina 

Does North Carolina require producer appointments? 

Yes. North Carolina requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does North Carolina allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. North Carolina allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does North Carolina permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. North Carolina permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are the deadlines for JIT appointments? 

Appointments in North Carolina must be submitted within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier. 

Does North Carolina appoint agencies? 

No. North Carolina doesn’t appoint agencies.  

Does North Carolina allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. North Carolina doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does North Carolina require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. North Carolina doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in North Carolina? 

The effective date of appointment in North Carolina must be within no greater than 15 days of the appointment-processing date. No future-dating is allowed. 

Where do carriers renew their North Carolina appointments? 

Carriers in North Carolina can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal.  

Can carriers in North Carolina specify the effective date for appointment termination? 

The effective date of appointment in North Carolina must be within no greater than 15 days of the appointment-processing date, no future-dating is allowed. 

Does a North Carolina insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. North Carolina doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in North Carolina? 

North Carolina charges $10 or $20 depending on license type per line of authority to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in North Carolina? 

North Carolina charges $10 or $20 depending on license type per line of authority to appoint a nonresident agency or individual.

Appointing in North Dakota 

Does North Dakota require producer appointments? 

Yes. North Dakota requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does North Dakota allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. North Dakota allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does North Dakota permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. North Dakota permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are the deadlines for JIT appointments in North Dakota? 

Appointments in North Dakota must be submitted by the later of either 

  1. 30 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. 30 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does North Dakota appoint agencies? 

Yes. North Dakota appoints agencies. 

Does North Dakota allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. North Dakota doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does North Dakota require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. North Dakota doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in North Dakota? 

The effective date is required in North Dakota. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their North Dakota appointments? 

Carriers in North Dakota can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination? 

The effective date is required in North Dakota. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a North Dakota insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

North Dakota doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in North Dakota? 

North Dakota charges $10 to appoint a resident agency or individual.

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in North Dakota? 

North Dakota charges $10 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Nebraska 

Does Nebraska require producer appointments? 

Yes. Nebraska requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Nebraska allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Nebraska allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Nebraska permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Nebraska permits Just-In-Time appointments.  

What are Nebraska’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Nebraska must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Nebraska appoint agencies? 

No. Nebraska doesn’t appoint agencies. 

Does Nebraska allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Nebraska doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Nebraska require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Nebraska doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Nebraska? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Nebraska. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their Nebraska appointments? 

Carriers in Nebraska can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal.  

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Nebraska? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Nebraska. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a Nebraska insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Nebraska doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Nebraska? 

Nebraska charges $11 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Nebraska? 

Nebraska charges $11 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Nevada 

Does Nevada require producer appointments? 

Yes. Nevada requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Nevada allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Nevada allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Nevada permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Nevada permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Nevada’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Nevada must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Nevada appoint agencies? 

Yes. Nevada appoints agencies. 

Does Nevada allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

Yes. Nevada allows adjuster appointments via NIPR.  

Does Nevada require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Nevada doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Nevada? 

The effective date is required date in Nevada, and the date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Nevada appointments? 

The State of Nebraska invoices appointments via email, and recipients may pay via Sircon. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Nevada? 

The effective date is required date in Nevada, and the date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Nevada insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

Yes. Nevada requires an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Nevada? 

Nevada charges $15 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Nevada? 

Nevada charges $15 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in New Hampshire 

Does New Hampshire require producer appointments? 

Yes. New Hampshire requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does New Hampshire allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. New Hampshire allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does New Hampshire permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. New Hampshire permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are New Hampshire’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in New Hampshire must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does New Hampshire appoint agencies? 

Yes. New Hampshire appoints agencies. 

Does New Hampshire allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. New Hampshire doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does New Hampshire require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. New Hampshire doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in New Hampshire? 

No. The effective date of the appointment in New Hampshire will be the date the transaction is processed. 

Where do carriers renew their New Hampshire appointments? 

New Hampshire doesn’t require renewals for appointments. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in New Hampshire? 

A carrier in New Hampshire may request an appointment termination effective date, but it may not be backdated from the date the transaction is processed. 

Does a New Hampshire insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. New Hampshire doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in New Hampshire? 

New Hampshire charges $50 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in New Hampshire? 

New Hampshire charges $50 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual.

Appointing in New Jersey 

Does New Jersey require producer appointments? 

Yes. New Jersey requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does New Jersey allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. New Jersey allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does New Jersey permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. New Jersey permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are New Jersey’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in New Jersey must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does New Jersey appoint agencies? 

Yes. New Jersey appoints agencies. 

Does New Jersey allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. New Jersey doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does New Jersey require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. New Jersey doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in New Jersey? 

The effective date is required in New Jersey. It can’t precede the effective date of the appointee or appointer’s license but can be backdated up to 60 days. 

Where do carriers renew their New Jersey appointments? 

Carriers in New Jersey can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in New Jersey? 

The effective date is required in New Jersey. It can’t precede the effective date of the appointee or appointer’s license but can be backdated up to 60 days. 

Does a New Jersey insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. New Jersey doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in New Jersey? 

New Jersey charges $50 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in New Jersey? 

New Jersey charges $50 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in New Mexico 

Does New Mexico require producer appointments? 

Yes. New Mexico requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does New Mexico allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. New Mexico allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does New Mexico permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. New Mexico permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are New Mexico’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in New Mexico must be submitted either

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does New Mexico appoint agencies? 

Yes. New Mexico appoints agencies. 

Does the state allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

Yes. New Mexico allows adjuster appointments via NIPR.

Does New Mexico require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. New Mexico doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in New Mexico? 

The date effective in New Mexico is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their New Mexico appointments? 

Carriers in New Mexico can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination in New Mexico? 

The date effective in New Mexico is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a New Mexico insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

An agent in New Mexico must be appointed within 60 days of obtaining an agent’s license or their license will be cancelled; the agent must have an affiliation or appointment for a license to remain active. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in New Mexico? 

New Mexico charges $20 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in New Mexico? 

New Mexico charges $20 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

US Map with State of New York Highlighted

Appointing in New York 

Does New York require producer appointments? 

Yes. New York requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does New York allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

No. New York appointments are processed offline through the New York state portal

Does New York permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. New York permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are New York’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in New York must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does New York appoint agencies? 

Yes. New York agency appointments are optional – only agencies that receive a commission from the carrier need to be appointed.

Does New York allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. New York doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does New York require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. New York doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in New York? 

The date effective in New York is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their New York appointments? 

Carriers in New York can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in New York? 

The effective date is required in New York. It can’t be in the future and will be ignored – the effective date is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a New York insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

After the initial renewal period, a producer must have an appointment, or they won’t be eligible for renewal in New York. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in New York? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in New York. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in New York? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in New York. 

Appointing in Ohio 

Does Ohio require producer appointments? 

Yes. Ohio requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Ohio allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Ohio allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Ohio permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Ohio permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Ohio’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Ohio must be submitted either 

  1. Within 30 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 30 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Ohio appoint agencies? 

Yes. Ohio appoints agencies. 

Does Ohio allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Ohio doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Ohio require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Ohio doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Ohio? 

The effective date is required in Ohio. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. Also, appointments submitted in the first 30 days of July can’t request an effective date prior to July 1st of the same year. 

Where do carriers renew their Ohio appointments? 

Ohio automatically sends an invoice via mail, which can be paid via mail or online with the fiscal division through Ohio’s online epay account. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Ohio? 

The effective date is required in Ohio. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. Terminations submitted in the first 30 days of July can’t request an effective date prior to July 1st of the same year. 

Does an Ohio insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Ohio doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Ohio? 

Ohio charges $15 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Ohio? 

Ohio charges $15 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Oklahoma 

Does Oklahoma require producer appointments? 

Yes. Oklahoma requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Oklahoma allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Oklahoma allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Oklahoma permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Oklahoma permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Oklahoma’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Oklahoma must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Oklahoma appoint agencies? 

Yes. Oklahoma appoints agencies. 

Does Oklahoma allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Oklahoma doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Oklahoma require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Oklahoma doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Oklahoma? 

The effective date is required in Oklahoma. It can’t be in the future, can’t precede the effective date of the appointer or appointee license, and may be backdated up to 15 days from the current date. 

Where do carriers renew their Oklahoma appointments? 

Carriers in Oklahoma can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Oklahoma? 

The effective date of an approved termination in Oklahoma will always be the date the transaction is processed. If a requested effective date is given in the transaction, it will be ignored. 

Does an Oklahoma insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Oklahoma doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Oklahoma? 

Oklahoma charges $30 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Oklahoma? 

Oklahoma charges $30 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Oregon 

Does Oregon require producer appointments? 

Oregon doesn’t require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit the list to the state upon request.

Appointing in Pennsylvania 

Does Pennsylvania require producer appointments? 

Yes. Pennsylvania requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Pennsylvania allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Pennsylvania allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Pennsylvania permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

No. Pennsylvania doesn’t permit Just-In-Time appointments.

Does Pennsylvania appoint agencies? 

Yes. Pennsylvania appoints agencies. 

Does Pennsylvania allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Pennsylvania doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Pennsylvania require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Pennsylvania doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Pennsylvania? 

The effective date is required in Pennsylvania. It can’t precede the effective date of appointee or appointer license in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. The requested effective date must be 30 days or less from the date the transaction is submitted. 

Where do carriers renew their Pennsylvania appointments? 

Appointment renewals are automatically invoiced via mail. According to the state, for 2020 and 2021, due to COVID-19, Pennsylvania is allowing those with bills smaller than $250,000 to pay via Sircon but hasn’t decided whether this allowance will remain in effect moving forward. Typically, Pennsylvania appointment renewals are required via mail. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Pennsylvania? 

The effective date is required in Pennsylvania. It can’t precede the effective date of appointee or appointer license in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. The requested effective date must be 30 days or less from the date the transaction is submitted. 

Does a Pennsylvania insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Pennsylvania doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Pennsylvania? 

Pennsylvania charges $15 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Pennsylvania? 

Pennsylvania charges $15 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Puerto Rico 

Does Puerto Rico require producer appointments? 

Yes. Puerto Rico requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Puerto Rico allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Puerto Rico allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Puerto Rico permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

No. Puerto Rico doesn’t permit Just-In-Time appointments. 

Does Puerto Rico appoint agencies? 

Yes. Puerto Rico appoints agencies. 

Does Puerto Rico allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Puerto Rico doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Puerto Rico require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

Yes. Puerto Rico requires a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Puerto Rico? 

The effective date is required in Puerto Rico. The requested effective date may be backdated up to 15 days from the current date. 

Where do carriers renew their Puerto Rico appointments? 

The State of Puerto Rico has perpetual appointments that don’t require renewals unless a license has become inactive for more than 30 days. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Puerto Rico? 

The effective date is required in Puerto Rico. The requested effective date may be backdated up to 15 days from the current date. The requested termination effective date must not precede the effective date of the appointment. 

Appointing in Rhode Island 

Are appointments required for Rhode Island? 

Rhode Island does not require insurance producer appointments. The carrier must maintain a list of all authorized licensees and submit a list to the state every March 1 of all producers who received at least $100 in commissions during the previous calendar year.

Appointing in South Carolina 

Does South Carolina require producer appointments? 

Yes. South Carolina requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does South Carolina allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. South Carolina allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does South Carolina permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. South Carolina permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are South Carolina’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in South Carolina must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does South Carolina appoint agencies? 

No. South Carolina doesn’t appoint agencies.

Does South Carolina allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. South Carolina doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does South Carolina require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. South Carolina doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in South Carolina? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in South Carolina. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their South Carolina appointments? 

Carriers in South Carolina can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in South Carolina. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a South Carolina insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. South Carolina doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in South Carolina? 

South Carolina charges local producers $40 and general producers $100 for appointing a resident agency or individual in South Carolina. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in South Carolina? 

South Carolina charges local producers $40 and general producers $100 for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in South Carolina.

Appointing in South Dakota 

Does South Dakota require producer appointments? 

Yes. South Dakota requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does South Dakota allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. South Dakota allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does South Dakota permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. South Dakota permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are South Dakota’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in South Dakota must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does South Dakota appoint agencies? 

Yes. South Dakota appoints agencies. 

Does South Dakota allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. South Dakota doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does South Dakota require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. South Dakota doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in South Dakota? 

The effective date will be ignored in South Dakota. However, it is required and must not precede the effective date of the appointee or appointer’s licenses. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their South Dakota appointments? 

Appointment renewals in South Dakota are billed annually and paid via Sircon. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in South Dakota? 

The effective date is required in South Dakota. It can’t precede the effective date of appointee license, appointer license, or effective date of appointment. The date effective is also the date supplied on transaction. 

Does a South Dakota insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. South Dakota doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in South Dakota? 

South Dakota charges $10 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in South Dakota? 

South Dakota charges $20 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Tennessee 

Does Tennessee require producer appointments? 

Yes. Tennessee requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Tennessee allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Tennessee allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Tennessee permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Tennessee permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Tennessee’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Tennessee must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Tennessee appoint agencies? 

No. Tennessee doesn’t appoint agencies.  

Does Tennessee allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Tennessee doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR.   

Does Tennessee require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Tennessee doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Tennessee? 

The effective date is required in Tennessee. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Tennessee appointments? 

Tennessee doesn’t require renewals for appointments. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Tennessee? 

The effective date is required in Tennessee. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on transaction. 

Does a Tennessee insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Tennessee doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Tennessee? 

Tennessee charges $30 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Tennessee? 

Tennessee charges $30 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Texas 

Does Texas require producer appointments? 

Yes. Texas allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Texas allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Texas allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Texas permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Texas permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Texas’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

JIT appointments in Texas must be submitted within 30 days of the appointment-effective date. The carrier determines the appointment-effective date and lists it on the appointment form. 

Does Texas appoint agencies? 

Yes. Texas appoints agencies. 

Does Texas allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Texas doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Is the producer’s Social Security number required to file an appointment application? 

No. Texas doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Texas? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Texas. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their Texas appointments? 

Texas doesn’t require renewals for appointments. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Texas? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Texas. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. The termination-effective date must not precede the effective date of the appointment. 

Does a Texas insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Texas doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Texas? 

Texas charges $10 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Texas? 

Texas charges $10 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Utah 

Does Utah require producer appointments? 

Yes. Utah requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Utah allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Utah allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Utah permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

No. Utah doesn’t permit Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Utah’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

The producer must be appointed prior to the solicitation of business. The appointment must be submitted to the Utah Department of Insurance within 15 days of the appointment effective date (which is determined by the carrier and listed on the appointment form) or the date the first piece of business is received by the carrier. 

Does Utah appoint agencies? 

Yes. Utah appoints agencies. 

Does Utah allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Utah doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Utah require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Utah doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Utah? 

The effective date is required in Utah. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Utah appointments? 

Utah doesn’t require carriers to renew their appointments if the license is current. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Utah? 

The effective date is required in Utah. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Utah insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Utah doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force. 

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Utah? 

There are no fees to appoint a resident agency or individual in Utah. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Utah? 

There are no fees to appoint a nonresident agency or individual in Utah. 

Appointing in Vermont 

Does Vermont require producer appointments? 

Yes. Vermont requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Vermont allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Vermont allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Vermont permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Vermont permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Vermont’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Vermont must be submitted by the earlier of: 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier

Does Vermont appoint agencies? 

No. Vermont doesn’t appoint agencies.  

Does Vermont allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Vermont doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Vermont require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Vermont doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Vermont? 

The effective date of the carrier appointment will be ignored (but required) in Vermont. The date the appointment is effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. Appointments must be filed within 15 days of the date the agency contract is executed or the first insurance application is submitted. 

Where do carriers renew their Vermont appointments? 

Vermont doesn’t require renewals for appointments if the license is active. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Vermont? 

The effective date of the carrier appointment will be ignored (but is required) in Vermont. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a Vermont insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Vermont doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Vermont? 

Vermont charges $60 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Vermont? 

Vermont charges $60 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Virginia 

Does Virginia require producer appointments? 

Yes. Virginia requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Virginia allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Virginia allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Virginia permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Virginia permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Virginia’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Virginia must be submitted within 30 days of the date of execution of the first piece of business. 

Does Virginia appoint agencies? 

Yes. Virginia appoints agencies. 

Does Virginia allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Virginia doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Virginia require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No, as of this year the state no longer requires Social Security numbers for appointment applications.

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Virginia? 

The effective date is required in Virginia. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Virginia appointments? 

The Virginia appointment billing portal

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Virginia? 

The effective date is required in Virginia. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 30 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on transaction. 

Does a Virginia insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Virginia doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Virginia? 

Virginia bills $7 each quarter to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Virginia? 

Virginia charges $7 each quarter to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Washington 

Does Washington require producer appointments? 

Yes. Washington requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Washington allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Washington allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Washington permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Washington permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Washington’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Washington must be submitted by the earlier of: 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Washington appoint agencies? 

Yes, Washington does appoint agencies, via NIPR.

Does Washington allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Washington doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Washington require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Washington doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Washington? 

An effective date is required in Washington. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Washington appointments? 

Carriers can renew their appointments at the Washington billing portal

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination? 

An effective date is required in Washington. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Washington insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Washington doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Washington? 

Washington charges $20 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Washington? 

Washington charges $20 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Wisconsin 

Does Wisconsin require producer appointments? 

Yes. Wisconsin requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Wisconsin allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Wisconsin allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Wisconsin permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. Wisconsin permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are Wisconsin’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in Wisconsin must be submitted by the earlier of:

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does Wisconsin appoint agencies? 

No. Wisconsin doesn’t appoint agencies.

Does Wisconsin allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Wisconsin doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Wisconsin require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Wisconsin doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Wisconsin? 

The effective date is required in Wisconsin. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Where do carriers renew their Wisconsin appointments? 

Carriers in Wisconsin can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in Wisconsin? 

The effective date is required in Wisconsin. It can’t be in the future and must be less than 15 days old. The date effective is the date supplied on the transaction. 

Does a Wisconsin insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Wisconsin doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Wisconsin? 

Wisconsin charges $16 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Wisconsin? 

Wisconsin charges $40 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in West Virginia 

Does West Virginia require producer appointments? 

Yes. West Virginia requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does West Virginia allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. West Virginia allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does West Virginia permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

Yes. West Virginia permits Just-In-Time appointments. 

What are West Virginia’s deadlines for JIT appointments?  

Appointments in West Virginia must be submitted either 

  1. Within 15 days of when the date the agent/agency contract is executed 
  2. Within 15 days of the first piece of business being submitted to the carrier 

Does West Virginia appoint agencies? 

West Virginia doesn’t allow carriers to appoint agencies, except for travel insurance agencies. 

Does West Virginia allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. West Virginia doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does West Virginia require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. West Virginia doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in West Virginia? 

The effective date in West Virginia can be backdated up to 15 days prior to the application date. The effective date must not precede the effective date of the appointee. 

Where do carriers renew their West Virginia appointments? 

Carriers in West Virginia can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal. 

Can a carrier specify the effective date for appointment termination in West Virginia? 

The effective date of an approved termination in West Virginia will always be the date the transaction is processed. If a requested effective date is given in the transaction, it will be ignored. 

Does a West Virginia insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. West Virginia doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in West Virginia? 

West Virginia charges $25 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in West Virginia? 

West Virginia charges $25 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

Appointing in Wyoming 

Does Wyoming require producer appointments? 

Yes. Wyoming requires all appointments to be submitted and reported to the state. 

Does Wyoming allow producer appointments to be processed via NIPR? 

Yes. Wyoming allows appointments to be processed via NIPR. 

Does Wyoming permit Just-In-Time appointments? 

No. Wyoming doesn’t permit Just-In-Time appointments. 

Does Wyoming appoint agencies? 

No. Wyoming doesn’t appoint agencies.

Does Wyoming allow adjuster appointments via NIPR? 

No. Wyoming doesn’t allow adjuster appointments via NIPR. 

Does Wyoming require the producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application? 

No. Wyoming doesn’t require a producer’s Social Security number to file an appointment application. 

Can the carrier specify the appointment date in Wyoming? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Wyoming. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Where do carriers renew their Wyoming appointments? 

Carriers in Wyoming can pay the invoice posted by the state on the NIPR portal.  

Can carriers specify the effective date for appointment termination? 

The effective date will be ignored (not required) in Wyoming. The date effective is the date the transaction is processed by the state. 

Does a Wyoming insurance license require appointment or affiliation? 

No. Wyoming doesn’t require an appointment or affiliation for an insurance license to remain in force.  

What are the fees for appointing a resident agency or individual in Wyoming? 

Wyoming charges $30 to appoint a resident agency or individual. 

What are the fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual in Wyoming? 

Wyoming charges $30 to appoint a nonresident agency or individual. 

As you can see, there are many variations in the regulations of state carrier appointments. The states could do a lot to standardize their processes, and carriers can certainly stand to upgrade their processes to take better advantage of unique features such as state JIT appointments. Sadly, if the appointment process – and all other aspects of insurance compliance – remain governed by individual states, these variations probably aren’t going anywhere. 

Instead, carriers and MGAs/MGUs looking to stay competitive are best served in finding solutions that automate and streamline their various processes, accounting for these ticky-tacky differences between state regulations. When it comes to staying in compliance, it’s about working smarter, not harder.

Future-Proof Your Business

Get a Demo