Known for a robust cowboy culture, it’s no surprise Oklahoma easily wrangled state insurance regulators to put together what may just be the most comprehensive state producer licensing continuing education (CE) requirements.
That’s a good thing since a producer’s resident license is central to all non-resident licenses and the kicker to maintaining good standing with resident licenses lies with CE.
While we’ve sat ourselves down to learn all about Oklahoma’s CE requirements, we still recommend you go straight to the horse’s mouth for the most up-to-date requirements. The Oklahoma Insurance Department website includes everything you need to know to stay compliant and maintain CE requirements.
What is the due date for Oklahoma Insurance CE Credits?
Producer licenses expire biennially on the last day of the licensee’s birth month and CE requirements are due on the very same day.
If birthdays are confusing for you, then have no fear. Oklahoma will send you a reminder 90 days before license expiration and CE due date. That should give you ample time to rope in those outstanding CE credits.
Who’s exempt from Oklahoma Insurance CE?
If you aren’t a resident producer in Oklahoma, then you can disregard this article. All nonresident producer licensees are exempt from Oklahoma’s CE requirements.
The exception to this exception is in the instance of adjusters. Nonresident adjusters are expected to meet resident state requirements. However, if an adjuster’s home state doesn’t have CE requirements, then the adjuster may be expected to meet either Oklahoma’s CE requirements or those of another state where the adjuster holds a nonresident license.
How many hours of CE are required for Oklahoma insurance producers?
Resident producers in Oklahoma should expect to take 24 hours of CE credits. Three of those hours must be in approved ethics courses and two of those hours must be in state or federal legislative updates.
For those extra studious producers who like to collect CE credit hours, only six hours can be carried over to the next biennial renewal period or applied to bring a lapsed license into compliance.
As a member of the NAIC Continuing Education Reciprocity agreement, the state has a wide catalogue of courses available for producers.
If you’re an instructor for a CE course, you can receive credit for that course.
To get CE credits, students must take an exam at course completion. These courses are closed book and must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher. Don’t stress if you get thrown by an exam as they can be taken an infinite number of times.
Certain lines require some special attention. These are outlined below.
Resident adjusters are required to complete at least 24 hours of CE, plus three hours of ethics per biennial renewal period. Nonresident insurance adjusters who are in Oklahoma no more than once a year to adjust for a single loss or losses from a single occurrence, or are acting for another adjuster, don’t need to obtain an Oklahoma adjuster license.
Adjusters who adjudicate workers compensation in Oklahoma must complete six hours of CE relating to the Workers’ Compensation Act as part of their 24 hours of CE. These credit hours no longer need to be specific to Oklahoma CE.
Producers looking to sell, solicit, or negotiate annuity products are required to first complete a one-time, four-hour annuities training course. Thanks to the state’s adoption of the NAIC’s Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standard Model Act, producers who sell annuities and who have previously completed their four-hour training prior to Nov. 1, 2023, will need to take an updated four-hour course or an optional single credit catch up course by April 30, 2024, to fulfill their annuity training requirements.
Long-Term Care Partnership training requirements
Resident producers in Oklahoma who wish to sell long-term care products must complete eight-hours of long-term care credit courses. Additionally, to maintain that license, producers must complete four hours of CE in long-term care every biennial renewal period. These courses can be taken either in a classroom or as an interactive distance learning course. Regardless, the credit hours obtained through these courses count toward the producer’s total credit-hour requirement.
Resident agents, customer service representatives, and adjusters with a property LOA must complete one hour of CE under the earthquake course category per renewal cycle. This hour will be included as part of the total CE credits.
Flood training requirements
FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program require that those licensees who sell flood insurance must comply with a minimum of three hours of training in flood insurance. Oklahoma doesn’t include any additional requirements for producers who sell flood insurance.
For more information about state-specific licensing requirements, or to find out how AgentSync can make it easier to operate across multiple states, check out our state pages.
Oklahoma Insurance CE FAQs
When do I need to report course completion?
Within 10 days of completion.
What do I need to report course completion?
Your license number.
Can I take any old course?
No, only Oklahoma approved courses will be accepted.