In Wyoming, anyone caught leaving a fence open can be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $750. Neglecting to close fences isn’t the only Wyoming legislation that can carry hefty fines. Resident insurance producers are also expected to adhere to Wyoming producer continuing education (CE) requirements.
Since maintaining resident licenses is key to keeping nonresident licenses in good standing, producers should be sure to stay up-to-date with the most recent state requirements. While we thrive on accuracy, we always recommend producers do their own due diligence by consulting the Wyoming Department of Insurance website directly.
What is the due date for Wyoming Insurance CE Credits?
Resident producer licenses expire in Wyoming biennially on the last day of the licensee’s birth month, which happens to be the same date CE requirements are due, too. You needn’t worry if remembering birthdays just isn’t your thing, Wyoming will send you a reminder notice 90 days before your expiration date.
Who’s exempt from Wyoming Insurance CE?
If you’re a nonresident producer in Wyoming, then congratulations! You may be exempt from Wyoming CE requirements. If nonresident producers meet their home state requirements, then they don’t need to worry about managing Wyoming CE hours on top of their resident hours.
For nonresident adjusters, if their home state doesn’t have CE requirements, then they will still be expected to complete 24 hours of CE biennially, including three hours of ethics courses.
How many hours of CE are required for Wyoming insurance producers?
Producers must complete 24 hours of CE credits every two-year renewal period, three of which must be in approved ethics courses.
We totally get it if you love CE and want to take as many courses as possible in a single renewal period. However, you should know that Wyoming won’t let you carry through any excess credit hours taken in a single biennial period. That said, if you teach a CE course then Wyoming will grant you the same number of CE credits that your students receive for taking the class.
To get CE credits, students must take an exam at course completion. These courses are closed book and must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher. Don’t stress if you struggle with an exam as it can be taken an infinite number of times. That said, course repetition is not allowed in a single renewal period.
All exams must be proctored by a disinterested third party. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Wyoming has approved virtual proctoring. The proctor must complete an online “Declaration of Compliance” because the licensee can access the exam. However, if the licensee accesses the exam without a monitor present, then they will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course.
Annuity training requirements
Resident producers who hold a life insurance license and sell annuities products must first complete a one-time, four-hour CE course approved by the department of insurance and provided by a department-approved education provider. The annuity requirement may be satisfied if producers have completed a substantially similar course in a different state.
Insurers are responsible for verifying whether producers have completed this requirement before they begin selling annuity products.
Long-term care insurance
Those producers who wish to sell long-term care insurance products in Wyoming must first complete a one-time training course of eight hours, plus an ongoing four hours of training every biennial renewal period.
Flood training requirements
FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program establish a national baseline minimum of three hours of flood-specific training for producers selling flood insurance.
For more information about state-specific licensing requirements, or to find out how AgentSync can make it easier to operate across multiple states, check out our state pages.
Wyoming Insurance CE FAQs
When do I need to report credit hours?
You must report credit hours within 30 days of completion.
What do I need to report course completion?
You’ll need your agent license number.
Will I need to pay a reporting fee?
Yes, the Wyoming Department of Insurance will expect you to pay a reporting fee of $1.
Will Wisconsin waive my late renewal fee?
In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, Wyoming will consider waiving late renewal fees for those directly affected by COVID and, therefore, unable to renew on time. The state specifies that in order to qualify for the fee exemption, producers must either test positive or be the primary caregiver of someone who tests positive. Requests for exceptions should include the licensee’s name, the Wyoming license number, expiration date, and a summary of their situation and should be sent to the Licensing Section at firstname.lastname@example.org.