Wyoming Seal

Wyoming

state commissioner

Jeffrey Rude

STATE phone
(307) 777-7319
STATE LICENSE DIVISION ADDRESS

Wyoming Insurance Department

Appointments & Terminations

Required to report appointments?

Yes

Permits Just-in-time (JIT) appointments?

Yes

Initial appointment deadlines

Within 15 days of contract execution or first business submission

Initial appointment deadline rule

JIT appointments permitted. State statute says the appointment must be submitted to the DOI within 15 days of the appointment effective date, which is the date the agent/agency contract is executed or the first piece of business is submitted to the carrier.

Can be processed via nipr?

Yes

Fees for appointing a resident agency or individual?

$15

Fees for appointing a nonresident agency or individual?

$15

Appoint agencies?

Yes

Agency appointment covers affiliated producers?

No

Adjuster appointments via NIPR?

No

Appointment effective date can be specified?

No

Appointment effective date rule

Not required and is the date the transaction is processed by the state.

State requires appointment renewal?

Yes

Appointment renewals via

Via NIPR Portal

When is the state renewal period?

Feb. 1, 2024 until March 31, 2024

Appointment renewal fee

$15 per appointment

Terminations processed via NIPR?

Yes

Termination reasons

Voluntary termination; inadequate production; cancelled by general agent; death; company defunct or liquidation; company indebtedness; poor policyholder services; appointed in error

Termination date can be specified by carrier?

No

Termination Effective date rule

Effective date is ignored (but required). Date effective is date transaction is processed by the state

Termination fee

$15

Allows carriers to terminate the appointment if license has expired?

No

Licensing

Initial individual new license fee

Resident New License Insurance Producer: $100 (Life Accident & Health or Sickness Variable Life and Variable Annuity) Resident New License Insurance Producer: $100 (Property Casualty Personal Lines) Resident New License Surplus Lines Broker: $100 Resident New License Limited Lines: $20 Non Resident New License Insurance Producer: $150 (Life Accident & Health or Sickness Variable Life and Variable Annuity) Non Resident New License Insurance Producer: $150 (Property Casualty Personal Lines) Non Resident New License Surplus Lines Broker: $100 Non Resident New License Limited Lines: $20

License renewal fee

Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 1) Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, Variable Life and Variable Annuity Renewal Fee: $100.00 Late Renewal Fee: $200.00 Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 2) Property Casualty Personal Lines Renewal Fee: $100.00 Late Renewal Fee: $200.00 Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 3) Credit Renewal Fee: $100.00 Late Renewal Fee: $200.00 Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 4) Title Renewal Fee: $100.00 Late Renewal Fee: $200.00 Resident Surplus Lines Broker Renewal Fee: $100.00 Late Renewal Fee: $200.00 Resident Limited Lines Producer Line of Authority Combination: All LOAs Renewal Fee: $20.00 Late Renewal Fee: $40.00 Fee Disclaimers: Per LOA Resident Specialty Limited Lines Producer Fee: $20.00 Late Renewal Fee: $40.00 Resident Adjuster Renewal Fee: $100.00 Late Renewal Fee: $200.00 Non-Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 1) Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, Variable Life and Variable Annuity Renewal Fee: $150.00 Late Renewal Fee: $300.00 Non-Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 2) Property, Casualty, Personal Lines Renewal Fee: $150.00 Late Renewal Fee: $300.00 Non-Resident Producer Line of Authority Combination: (Group 3) Credit Renewal Fee: $150.00 Late Renewal Fee: $300.00 Non-Resident Surplus Lines Broker Line of Authority Combination: Surplus Lines Renewal Fee: $150.00 Late Renewal Fee: $300.00 Non-Resident Limited Lines Producer Renewal Fee: $20.00 Late Renewal Fee: $40.00 Fee Disclaimers: Per LOA Non-Resident Specialty Lines Producer Renewal Fee: $20.00 Late Renewal Fee: $40.00 Fee Disclaimers: Per LOA

When does the resident individual producer license renewal period begin?

90 days before expiration

What is the resident individual producer license renewal date?

Last day of birth month every 2 years based on year of first state license issue

Late renewal or reinstatement period for resident individual producer license?

Late renewal allowed up to one year after expiration

When does the nonresident individual producer license renewal period begin?

90 days before expiration

What is the nonresident individual producer license renewal date?

Last day of birth month every 2 years based on year of first state license issue

Late renewal or reinstatement period for nonresident individual producer license?

Late renewal allowed up to one year after expiration

Can a producer use a P.O. Box in their resident or business address?

No

Are individuals required to list their county as part of the address?

No

What addresses are required for individual license maintenance?

Residence, Business, and Mailing

State individual licenses include

Life and Health Property and Casualty Reinsurance Intermediary Broker Consultant Managing General Agency Agency Non Resident Surplus Lines Broker Resident Surplus Lines Broker Non-Resident Adjuster - Designated Home State Wyoming Resident Producer Non Resident Third Party Administrator Limited Lines Motor Club Producer Non Resident Limited Lines Prod Non Resident Producer Resident Limited Lines Producer Firm Limited Lines Motor Club Producer Firm Non Resident Limited Lines Producer Firm Resident Specialty Limited Lines Producer Resident Limited Lines Producer Non-Resident Specialty Limited Lines Producer Risk Retention Non Resident Adjuster Resident Adjuster Pharmacy Benefit Manager

State recognizes a licensing exemption for nonresident commercial lines producers with multistate contracts?

Yes

State broker license rule

Residents A broker is a resident individual, firm or corporation acting as an independent contractor on behalf of the insured and for compensation or fee solicits, negotiates or procures insurance or the renewal or continuance thereof for insureds or prospective insureds.Any producer acting as a broker is not an agent or other representative of an insurer and does not have power by his/her own acts to obligate the insurer on any risk or by any transaction. The relationship between a broker and an insurer is that of insurer and agent if the producer has been appointed as an agent. A producer must be appointed before acting as an agent of an insurer. Appointments are not required for individuals representing agencies. Nonresidents may not be licensed as brokers.

Requires pre licensing courses?

No

Prelicense education requirement

No pre license education requirements

Fingerprints Required?

Yes, for Resident Licensing

Where to apply for resident license?

NIPR Gateway

What Transactions are Retaliatory Fees Applied to?

None

Submit Partial License Renewals through NIPR?

Yes

Has Personal Lines LOA?

Yes

Deadline to report personal data changes (address, name change, phone number, etc.)

Licensees must notify the Commissioner within 30 days of a change in name, address, telephone number, email address, and other contact information as defined by Commissioner rule and regulation. Contact Change Request supported via NIPR Gateway.

Agency

Can a sole proprietor be licensed as an entity?

Not required unless doing business as Agency. If doing business as individual, individual license meets requirements.

DRLP must have active state license

Yes

DRLPs must cumulatively cover all LOAs in application

No

Agency License required?

Yes

Affiliations: Indicates if producers selling on behalf of/through an entity must be formally affiliated with that entity and if the entity must notify the department of changes

No

Branch office

Main license meets requirements

Deadline to report key business entity changes (address, dba, phone, email, etc.)

Licensees must notify the Commissioner within 30 days of a change in name, address, telephone number, email address, and other contact information as defined by Commissioner rule and regulation. Business Entities must use the method identified on the state's website.

Adjuster

Requires adjuster license?

Yes

Offers designated home state?

Yes

DHS exam required?

Yes

Reciprocity states

AK, AL, AR, AZ, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IN, KY, LA, ME, MI, MN, MS, MT, NC, NH, NM, NV, OK, OR, SC, TX, UT, VT, WA, WV

Which states require an exam for reciprocity?

CA, HI, NY, PR

Independent adjuster LOAS

Adjuster, Property Adjuster, Casualty Adjuster, Crop

Independent adjuster fees

Licensing Fee (Residents): $100 Renewal Fee: $100 Late Renewal Fee: $200

Independent adjuster exam required?

Yes

Public Adjuster Renewal Period

Biennially, on the last day of the individual's birth month.

Independent adjuster details

Resident Adjuster applicants must renew Property and Casualty simultaneously. Fingerprints are required for residents. Non residents must be licensed in their state to be an adjuster in Wyoming.

Emergency adjuster details

In the event of an emergency, adjusters may adjust claims in WY if they have an adjuster license in their home state or an acceptable DHS. These licenses can last a maximum of 90 days.

Public Adjuster LOAs

Public Adjuster

Public adjuster fees

**Licensing Fee**: $100 **Renewal Application (Residents): **$130 **Renewal Application (NR): **$150

Public adjuster exam required?

Yes

Address change request through NIPR?

Yes

Continuing Education

Total hours per renewal period

24

Renewal period

2 years

License renewal date is

Last day of birth month

License renewal year based on...

Year of first license issuance

When is the CE due?

Prior to license expiration.

How long before expiration does state send CE reminder?

90 days prior to expiration date

Exemptions to CE

What if a producer missed the renewal date?

Licensee has one year to complete CE requirements and pay late fee to reinstate.

CE instructors get credit for teaching courses?

Yes

Ethics requirements

3

Flood-specific CE requirements

3 hours of NFIP course

LTC-specific CE requirements

8-hour initial certification, with 4 hours of LTC-specific training every two years

Annuity-specific CE requirements

One-time, 4-hour course

Additional line of business requirements

10 CE hours per LOA If you carry a qualification of Life & Health only, you must complete 10 credit hours, but if you hold qualifications in both Life & Health and Property & Casualty, you must complete a total of 20 credit hours during your licensing period. If you have a crop license and any major LOA, 2 hours of crop training may count toward your 10 hours of major LOA. Only half of your required CE can come from any one sponsoring carrier's training.

Regulatory Updates

Wyoming Issues Notice Regarding TPA Renewals

On March 12, 2024, Wyoming issued a notice regarding renewal required documentation and updated renewal date for TPA licenses. See attachment. 

Wyoming Department of Insurance Agency Agreements Termination Reminder for Property and Casualty and Individual Life and Annuities

On January 10, 2024, Wyoming updated termination requirements with a reminder that January 31, 2024 is the last day to terminate to avoid renewal fees. Invoices must be paid in full once generated for company’s appointments. March 31, 2024 is the final day to pay invoice to avoid automatic termination with an effective date of January 31, 2024.

State of Wyoming Department of Insurance Issues Memo on Company Appointment Renewal Process for 2024

- Appointment renewal invoices will be emailed on February 1, 2024. - Retroactive appointment expiration effective January 31, 2024. - Payment Due Date is March 31, 2024 - Last day to terminate appointment is January 31, 2024 Please see attached for additional information and payment details. 

Wyoming Suitability in Annuity Transactions

Effective July 5, 2023, Wyoming regulation governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions will take effect on July 5, 2023.  See attachment for full details.

Wyoming Medical Malpractice Reporting Memo

On April 20, 2023, Wyoming provided a memo to update insurers writing medical malpractice insurance in Wyoming regarding recent legislative changes. See attachment.

Wyoming Bulletin Offering Guidance on Depreciation of Labor in Property Claims

Wyoming bulletin offering guidance on depreciation of labor in property claims. See attachment.

Wyoming Updates Regulation Governing Suitability of Annuity Transactions

Wyoming updates regulation governing suitability in annuity transactions. See attachment for full details.

Wyoming Annual legislative and Regulatory Update Summary

Wyoming sent out a summary of legislative and regulatory updates. See full details on the attached document.

Wyoming Updates Accepted DHS List

Effective immediately, Wyoming has updated its list of Designated Home States

Wyoming Fee and DHS Update

Beginning 1/1/2023, Resident Licensing Renewal, Nonresident Licensing, and Nonresident Adjuster Licensing all get fee updates for Wyoming. The $30 CE filing fee is removed and NRL for individual and business, and NRAL all increase from $100 to $150.

Wyoming Publishes Memorandum on Surplus Lines Export List

With this publication of the Surplus Lines Export List, Wyoming requests feedback on the deletion or addition of what is on the current list. This feedback must be provided by Dec. 5th, 2022.

Wyoming Updates TPA Regulations

Wyoming updates the TPA requirements for initial licensing and renewals that are effective immediately. Expand for a summary of the requirements and to view the original document.

Wyoming Updates Standards for Suitability in Annuity Transactions

The updates will reflect the best interest standards for annuity sales based on the National Association of Insurance Commissioners Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model. The updates result in a one time, 4 credit training course.

Wyoming Modifies July 7th, 2022 Memorandum

Wyoming's July 7, 2022 Memorandum on Designated Home State Licensing has been modified. It now includes and updated stance which includes reciprocating all resident state adjuster licenses so long as the licensee carries lines of authority reciprocated by Wyoming.

Wyoming Notes When DHS in not Accepted

Designated Home State (DHS) is ONLY acceptable when there is no home state license offered by their state. If the state of a staff adjuster that does not require staff adjuster licensing offers independent adjuster licensing and allows staff adjusters to obtain this license, the adjuster must obtain the independent adjuster license. Also, one cannot have a DHS license in a different state when they are applying for a WY DHS license.

Wyoming Clarifies Appointment and Termination Requirements

The Wyoming Department of Insurance has observed that some producers and insurers are not fully aware of their rights and responsibilities. As a result, they are looking to clarify the requirements.

Wyoming Changes 2023 CE Fees

The change in fees will take into effect on 1/1/23.

FAQs

Request a Demo