DYK: Oregon is home to a quarter of the U.S. llama population? That’s a whole lot of llamas.
We’re all about a good llama fact, but our absolute favorite thing about Oregon is their stellar insurance producer licensing requirements. Just thinking about it makes our heads go all wooly.
While we know a ton about Oregon and its producer licensing continuing education requirements, we recommend you go straight to the source. The Oregon Department of Insurance website is the best place to find the most up-to-date information on producer licensing requirements.
What is the due date for Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Credits?
Resident producer licenses in Oregon expire biennially on the last day of the licensee’s birth month and Continuing Education (CE) is due 30 days before license expiration. All these numbers can be a lot to keep track of. To help, Oregon will send out a reminder notification 90 days before license expiration. If our math is correct, that gives licensees roughly two months’ advance notice to complete their CE.
Basically: if you were born June 24th, your renewal date would be June 30th, 2022, your CE would be due May 31st, and the state will send you a reminder on April 1st (no joke).
Who’s exempt from Oregon Insurance CE?
If you aren’t a resident producer in Oregon, then you can disregard this article. All nonresident producer licensees are exempt from Oregon’s CE requirements so long as they’re compliant in their home state.
If you were exempt from taking a licensing exam due to sufficient work experience or finishing ample course work to receive an industry designation, then you may have different CE requirements. The Oregon DOI recommends that you reach out directly for exact details on this.
How many hours of CE are required for Oregon insurance producers?
Resident producers in Oregon must complete 24 hours of CE every biennial renewal period. Within that requirement, producers must be sure to complete, at a minimum, three hours of ethics courses and three hours of courses that cover Oregon statutes and administrative rules, including recent changes.
As a member of the NAIC Continuing Education Reciprocity agreement, Oregon producers have a wide variety of courses available.
If you’re the type to procrastinate, be warned: Producers aren’t allowed to receive more than eight hours of CE credit in a single day. So be sure to jump on these requirements well ahead of the due date.
To get CE credits, students must take an exam at course completion. These courses are closed book and must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher. While you can’t repeat a course within the same renewal period, don’t stress if you don’t pass the exam on the first go. These exams can be retaken an infinite number of times.
How much do you know about selling annuities? Well, if you’re a resident producer, you’ll have to prove just how much knowledge you’ve got by completing a one-time, four-credit training course through an approved Oregon Continuing Education provider. While these training courses can be taken either in the classroom setting or as a self-study, insurers are required to verify that the training requirement was met before letting producers sell annuity products.
Long-Term Care Partnership training requirements
Resident producers in Oregon who wish to sell long-term care products must complete an initial eight hours of long-term care courses. Additionally, to maintain that license, producers must complete four hours of CE in long-term care every biennial renewal period.
Flood training requirements
FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program require that those licensees who sell flood insurance must comply with a minimum of three hours of training in flood insurance. Oregon doesn’t include any additional requirements for producers who sell flood insurance. But the good news is that these hours can be applied to your overall CE credit requirements.
For more information about state-specific licensing requirements, or to find out how AgentSync can make it easier to operate across multiple states, check out our state pages.
Oregon Insurance CE FAQs
Can I carry over CE course credits?
Nope, you sure can’t
Is there a state reporting fee?
Yep, you’ll be charged $1 for every credit hour completed.