AgentSync #2 in Insurtech Insights exclusive Future50 list  |  More Info on the Award

AgentSync State Resources

Connecticut Insurance Licensing and Compliance Resources

Contact Hero Image

State License Division Information

Connecticut Insurance Department
P.O. Box 816
Hartford, Connecticut 06142
Phone: (860) 297-3800
Website: http://www.ct.gov/cid/site/default.asp

Non Resident Licensing Information: Nonresident License Application Forms

For Carriers in Connecticut

  • Drastically reduce time to sell

  • Automatically Sync active agent records with NIPR

  • Reduce time to activate Agents with seamless onboarding experience

For Agencies in Connecticut

  • Import the agent record from the NIPR PDB (Producer Database) in real time

  • Daily change updates synced directly with NIPR

  • Daily change updates synced directly with NIPR

For MGAs/MGUs in Connecticut

  • Let technology help manage your distribution channel with contracting, licensing, appointments, & compliance solutions.

  • Basic setup completed in days, not months

  • Submit appointments in a few clicks

FAQs

Before you get your insurance license, you’ll need to determine what type of insurance agent you want to be and what types of policies you need to sell. That will help you figure out what type, or types, of insurance licenses you need to earn. Once you’ve made those determinations, take your Connecticut insurance pre-license education courses. After completing that coursework or you’ll need to take your insurance exam. Life, Accident, & Health (LA&H) and Property & Casualty (P&C) are a total of four lines, but the licenses and exams are presented at two combined lines.

Once you have completed your exams you can apply for your license(s). If you have more than one line of authority that you have passed the exam for, be sure to apply for all of those lines. Once you have submitted your application and have filled all the other requirements, your license application will be reviewed by the state. Your background check will also be reviewed at the same time.

The first step to gain a state Adjuster license in Conneticut is to pass the insurance exam. But the average pass rate of insurance exams nationwide is around 55% for first-time test-takers. The next step after completing all your coursework and passing the Connecticut Insurance Adjuster License exams is to apply for your license. Once you have submitted your application, it will be reviewed by the state. This process generally takes about seven to ten (7-10) business days. You may also check the status of your application at the Connecticut Insurance Department. Depending on the results of your background check, the Department of Insurance may request more information or documentation.

Connecticut requires that resident individual licensees complete twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two year renewal period. Three (3) of those hours must be in Connecticut Insurance Law and ethics. If you carry the Property and/or Casualty lines you must take three (3) hours in Federal Flood requirements. After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Connecticut insurance license online by using the Connecticut National Insurance Producer Registry site.

AgentSync can also help with the renewal process.

The Online Renewal Notification is emailed to the licensee’s email on file at least 60 days prior to your license expiration date. You must renew online at National Insurance Producer Registry and select “Renew” to renew your license. You are eligible to renew 90 days prior to your expiration date.

Questions regarding the submission of your application contact NIPR at:
Email: customerservice@nipr.com
Phone: (855) 674-6477

  • FEES:
    Renewal Fee: $160 (plus the NIPR transaction fee)
    Late Renewal Fee: $320 (plus the NIPR transaction fee)

    NIPR accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, PayPal or electronic check.

RENEWAL PROCESS:

Go to www.nipr.com and follow these steps:

  1. Select “Renew.”
  2. On the “Application Select” page
    • Select “Resident Licensing Renewals” or “Non-Resident Renewals”
  3. On the “State Requirements” page, select “RENEW HERE” (Green box)

AgentSync can also help with the renewal process.

You’ll need to renew your license every two (2) years to keep it active. Licenses expire June 30 of each odd-numbered year. In Connecticut, all Non-resident licensees are exempt from Connecticut CE but are required to submit a renewal payment by their expiry date. Connecticut will grant reciprocity with an equivalent license in any other state (except California, Hawaii or New York).

Fees for renewal vary dependent on type, and each type can be renewed via the NIPR Non-Resident Adjuster Renewal application:
$130.00 for Casualty Adjuster
$130.00 for MVPD Appraiser
$300.00 for Public Adjuster

For more information, contact the State of Connecticut Insurance Department.

Once you have your license, you’ll need to renew your license every two (2) years to keep it active. Licenses expire June 30 of each odd-numbered year. In Connecticut, you are required to complete a total of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education (CE), including three (3) hours of Connecticut Insurance Law and Ethics coursework, to upkeep your adjuster license.

There is an $160 fee to renew your Connecticut adjuster license.

Connecticut grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state, except CA, HI, and NY. Connecticut will also accept a Designated Home State (DHS) license for adjusters whose home state does not license (such as Colorado)

For more information, contact the Connecticut Department of Insurance.

*State specific rules and regulations can change. Please be sure to visit NIPR or the state’s website for the latest information.