Appointments & Terminations
Prior to the solicitation of business; Within 15 days of contract execution or first business submission
State statute says the appointment must be submitted to the DOI within 15 days of the appointment effective date, which is the date the agent/agency contract is executed or the first piece of business is submitted to the carrier. The Michigan DOI interpretation takes this to mean that: JIT appointments aren't allowed and the producer must be appointed prior to the solicitation of business
Required and is the date supplied on transaction. Must not be in the future and must be less than 15 days old.
The Michigan DOI sends the company a list of carrier appointments and an invoice every January. Bills are paid through the DIFS epayment login (online services).
$10 per appointment for first year and $5 for every year after that
Termination reason code is not required
Required and is the date supplied on transaction. Must not be in the future and must be less than 15 days old
Resident New License Insurance Producer: $10 Resident New License Surplus Lines Producer: $110 Non Resident New License Insurance Producer: $10 Non Resident New License Surplus Lines Producer: $110
Resident Renewal Surplus Lines Producer $100 Non Resident Renewal Surplus Lines Producer: $100
First day of birth month every 2 years based on year of birth
For individual's business address only
Residence, Business, and Mailing
Non-Resident Solicitor, Life and Health Insurer, Property/Casualty Insurer, Solicitor, Alternative Financial Delivery System, Resident Adjuster for Insured, Resident Counselor, Resident Insurance Adjuster, Surplus Lines, Non-Resident Adjuster for Insured, Non-Resident Counselor, Non-Resident Insurance Adjuster, Non-Resident Surplus Lines, Resident Producer, Non Resident Producer, Risk Retention
"Brokerage” is not allowed in Michigan. A broker represents a consumer - not an insurer. Acts of misfeasance or malfeasance by a person acting as a broker do not bind any insurer and thereby place the consumer at risk. "Included under Producer License
Supervised instruction or verifiable self-study
An original certificate awarded on completion of the pre-licensing education course must be submitted at the exam site.
Pre-licensing education completion certificates have a 12-month expiration date from the date of course completion. If the examination is not passed prior to the certificate expiration date, the applicant must complete a new pre-licensing program of study.
The Commissioner may waive the pre-license education requirement if the applicant: a. applies for a limited license as designated by the Commissioner; b. has been a licensed producer within the past 12 months; c. was previously licensed in another state; d. holds a CLU, ChFC, CPCU, CIC, AAI, CEBS, CFP, FLMI, LUTCF, RHU, REBC, HIA, or ARM designation; or e. has an associate's, bachelor's, or master's degree with a concentration in insurance from a Commissioner-approved institution. To request a waiver, the applicant must mail the following to OFIR, Pre-licensing Education Waiver Request, P.O. Box 30220, Lansing, MI 48909: a. a letter requesting waiver; and b. the required proof of waiver: I. a copy of certificate for professional designations or letter confirming certificate; or II. a copy of college transcript and course descriptions.
Yes – Full criminal history
Applicant moving from another state to Michigan may apply for a resident license if they surrender previous state license within 90 days. Prior to filing an application applicant's with conviction histories are strongly encouraged to review Chapter 12 of the Michigan Insurance Code and the Guiding Principles found Michigan's state website for complete information on license eligibility.
No - allows partial renewal of inactive licenses only
All licensees must report a change of residential, mailing, business, or email address within 30 days to the Commissioner. Contact Change Request supported via NIPR Gateway.
Licensees who fail to report a mailing address change within 30 days will be fined $100.
License is perpetual.
All producers selling on behalf of or through a business entity are affiliated.
License not required but branch must be registered
AK, AL, AR, AZ, CT, DE, FL, GA, ID, IN, KY, LA, ME, MN, MS, MT, NC, NH, NM, NV, OK, OR, RI, SC, TX, UT, VT, WA, WV
CA, HI, NY, PR, WY
Fire & Other Hazards, Workers' Compensation, Crop
Licensing Fee: $15 Amendment Fee: $15 Reinstatement Fee: $15 Renewal Fee: $5
The license term is one year. The renewal date is March 31st.
The lines of authority are offered for both residents and non residents.
To adjust in the event of an emergency, the adjuster must apply via the Electronic Licensing Application. The process is expedited for licensure.
First day of birth month
Year of birth
On the first day of licensee's birth month, biennially. Licenses are perpetual, except Surplus Lines. Producer licenses are perpetual and remain in good standing as long as CE requirements are met.
If first renewal date would be 12 months or fewer from the date of your first license, you won't need CE in the first renewal cycle. Limited and surplus lines licensees holding only limited life, turkey crop and hail, travel accident and baggage, title, credit, or limited lines property and casualty lines are exempt from CE.
License will be suspended for 90 days or until your 24-hour requirement is met. In that 90 days, you may continue to serve your book of business but can’t take on new clients or solicit new business. After the 90-day period, you have the rest of the year to get current on your CE and apply to reinstate your license with a late fee. After 12 months, you’ll need to apply for a new license.
3 hours of NFIP course
8-hour initial certification, with 4 hours of LTC-specific training every two years
One-time, 4-hour course
Michigan Updating State Code Requirements for Mailing and Business Address
Effective October 17, 2023, Michigan will allow individual applicants to change the state code of the mailing address to any state. However, Michigan individual residents’ business address state code must be one of the following: - Michigan - Indiana - Ohio - Wisconsin - Illinois
Michigan establishes procedures to rebut a conviction through good moral character
Effective March 20, 2023, Michigan establishes procedures to rebut a conviction through good moral character. See attachment for details.
Michigan Issues Bulletin Regarding Pharmacy Benefit Manager Registration
Effective January 1, 2024, Michigan will license and regulate Pharmacy Benefit Managers. See attachment for more details.
Michigan Updates Appointment Mapping
Michigan will be adding new mapping for "Fire" and updating the mapping for "Turkey Crop and Hail."
Michigan Adding Third Party Admin
Michigan will be adding a new License Class of "Third Party Administrator". The effective date is yet to be announced, but is noted to take place at some point in Q3. This will be updated when the date is set.
Michigan Launches a New Website
The Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services announces a new website aims to give end users a new, modern experience. This website will continue to provide resources and assistance to consumers and licensees.
NASAA Updates IAR CE Member Adoption list on its Website
NASAA provides an updated version of the IAR CE Member Adoption list on its website.
How Do I Get an Insurance License in Michigan?
How Do I Get a State Adjuster License in Michigan?
How do I renew my insurance license in Michigan?
How do I renew my non-resident insurance license in Michigan?
How Do I renew My Non-Resident Adjuster License in Michigan?
How Do I Renew My Adjuster License In Michigan?