AgentSync #2 in Insurtech Insights exclusive Future50 list  |  More Info on the Award

AgentSync State Resources

Pennsylvania Insurance Licensing and Compliance Resources

Contact Hero Image

State License Division Information

Pennsylvania Insurance Department
1326 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone: (717) 787-3840
Fax: (717) 783-9326
Email: https://expressforms.pa.gov/apps/pa/insurance/contact-us
Website: https://www.insurance.pa.gov

Non Resident Licensing Information: Pennsylvania Insurance Department License Renewals

For Carriers in Pennsylvania

  • Drastically reduce time to sell

  • Automatically Sync active agent records with NIPR

  • Reduce time to activate Agents with seamless onboarding experience

For Agencies in Pennsylvania

  • Import the agent record from the NIPR PDB (Producer Database) in real time

  • Daily change updates synced directly with NIPR

  • Daily change updates synced directly with NIPR

For MGAs/MGUs in Pennsylvania

  • Let technology help manage your distribution channel with contracting, licensing, appointments, & compliance solutions.

  • Basic setup completed in days, not months

  • Submit appointments in a few clicks

FAQs

Depending on what type of insurance agent you want to be or what types of policies you need to sell, you will need to choose what type or types of insurance licenses you need to get. After you’ve determined which licenses you need, you must now take your Pennsylvania insurance pre-license education courses. The next step after completing all of your pre-license coursework is to take the insurance exam. You will take one exam for each line of insurance you wish to carry. Life, Accident, and Health (LA&H) and Property and Casualty (P&C) are combined into two exams.

Pennsylvania requires that all insurance license applicants provide fingerprints prior to licensing. Giving your fingerprints will initiate a background check. If you have any prior misdemeanors or felonies, this may affect the outcome of your licensing efforts.

Once you have completed your exams and fingerprinting, you are now ready to apply for your license. If you have more than one line of authority that you have passed the exam for, be sure to apply for all of those lines. Once you have submitted your application and have filled all the other requirements, your license application will be reviewed by the state. Your background check will also be reviewed.

The State of Pennsylvania does not offer a Resident Insurance Adjuster License and does not require a license to practice insurance claims adjusting within the state.

In the state of Pennsylvania, renewal cadence varies depending on which license you hold; thus, your license may need to be renewed biennially or annually. Renewal notices are sent approximately 60 days prior to your present license expiration date.

The state requires that resident individual licensees complete twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two-year renewal period. The Pennsylvania Insurance Department has limited ability to waive CE requirements on an individual basis under Act 147 of 2002. Extenuating circumstances, such as military service, must be well documented in order for these requirements to be waived.

After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 60 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Pennsylvania insurance license online by using the Pennsylvania State Insurance Department or the National Insurance Producer Registry. AgentSync can also help with the renewal process.

The license renewal fee is $55.

Non-residents, who comply with CE requirements of his/her resident state, are exempt from the Pennsylvania CE requirements. Non-residents selling long-term care (LTC) must meet the Pennsylvania training requirement. Applicants must hold an active renewable license and an active equivalent license for the requested lines of authority (LOAs) in Pennsylvania.

The non-resident license renewal fee is $110. AgentSync can also help with the renewal process.

Pennsylvania Non-resident adjuster license renewal is required of all license-holders every two (2) years before the expiration date. A Non-resident who is licensed as a public insurance adjuster in another state that requires the applicant to submit to an examination as a condition of licensure is exempted from the examination requirements of Pennsylvania.

Non-Resident applicants must be licensed for the same license type and lines of authority to be eligible for online submission. Additionally, Non-Resident Adjusters in Pennsylvania are only required to complete the Continuing Education (CE) requirements of their DHS. Additionally, a Non-Resident who is licensed as a public insurance adjuster in another state that has reciprocity agreement with Pennsylvania is exempt from additional examination.

There is a $200 renewal fee, which can be paid directly via the NIPR.

For more information, contact the Pennsylvania Insurance Department (PID).

Pennsylvania is one of 16 states that do not license insurance adjusters. This means you can legally adjust claims in your state without a license, but only in said state.

To adjust in the state of Pennsylvania, you will need to obtain a Designated Home State (DHS) license. You will go through that state’s (Pennsylvania or otherwise) licensing process, testing, and compliance regulations and their license will act as your resident, or home state license.

If youre looking to become an insurance adjuster in a non-licensing state like Pennsylvania, the Florida 70-20 DHS License is the next best thing for the following reasons:
The state offers the quickest turnaround time after you submit your documents.
The Florida 70-20 license is reciprocal with most states.
A Florida DHS license is good for 4 years.

This is not to say this is the only way to obtain a DHS license, it is simply the easiest. Many of the licensing states offer DHS licenses. So be sure to do additional research to find the best fit.

For more information, contact the Pennsylvania Insurance Department (PID).

*State specific rules and regulations can change. Please be sure to visit NIPR or the state’s website for the latest information.